‘Aquaman’ Tops ‘Batman v Superman’ To Become DCEU’s Highest-Grossing Film!!

After blowing the competition out of the water over the holiday period, Aquaman has now set a new milestone at the box office, overtaking 2016’s Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice to become the highest-grossing installment in the DC Extended Universe.

The Jason Momoa-headlined solo movie has taken its global haul to $887 million, surpassing the $873 million worldwide take of Zack Snyder’s Batman v Superman.  Wonder Woman now sits in third place on $821.8 million, followed by Suicide Squad ($746.8 million), Man of Steel ($668 million) and Justice League ($657.9 million).

A billion dollar take for Aquaman is all but assured, and the underwater superhero epic may well go on to top Christopher Nolan’s The Dark Knight ($1.003 billion) and The Dark Knight Rises ($1.085 billion) to become the biggest DC movie of all time.

Given the difficulties the DCEU has faced, Warner Bros. is sure to be ecstatic with Aquaman’s performance, and it may well encourage the studio to give the green light to some of the many, many DC projects in various stages of development.

Next up for the DCEU is Shazam! in April 2019, followed by Birds of Prey (And the Fantabulous Emancipation of One Harley Quinn) in February 2020 and Wonder Woman 1984 in June 2020. Meanwhile, DC Films also has its standalone Joker movie incoming in October 2019.

From Warner Bros. Pictures and director James Wan comes an action-packed adventure that spans the vast, visually breathtaking underwater world of the seven seas, “Aquaman”, starring Jason Momoa in the title role. The film reveals the origin story of half-human, half-Atlantean Arthur Curry and takes him on the journey of his lifetime — one that will not only force him to face who he really is, but to discover if he is worthy of who he was born to be … a king.”

Aquaman is directed by James Wan (The Conjuring) and stars Jason Momoa as the titular hero, reprising his role from Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice and Justice League, along with Amber Heard as Mera, Patrick Wilson as Ocean Master, Willem Dafoe as Dr. Vulko, Yahya Abdul-Mateen II as Black Manta, Dolph Lundgren as King Nereus, Nicole Kidman as Atlanna, Temuera Morrison as Tom Curry, Ludi Lin as Murk, Michael Beach as Jesse Kane, Djimon Hounsou as the Fisherman King, Randall Park as Dr. Stephen Shin, Otis Dhanji as a young Arthur Curry, Julie Andrews as Karathen and Graham McTavish as King Atlan.


via Flickering Myth

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.