‘Fast and Furious 9’ Gets New Character Posters!! Check It Out!!

The Fast & Furious franchise is one of the few box office juggernauts that can challenge Disney’s dominance at the box office, and Universal is absolutely done living life a quarter-mile at a time. And I don’t just mean because Dom’s in full dad-mode now. Universal’s ever-expanding international racing-meets-super-criminals-sometimes-on-the-side-of-the-law franchise got its first big spinoff with last year’s hit Hobbs and Shaw and dove into the animated and streaming markets with Netflix’s Fast and Furious: Spy Racers, but next up, it’s a return to the tried and true with the upcoming Fast and Furious 9.

The film is officially titled F9: The Fast Saga (which fits perfectly in the franchise’s batshit insane lineage of title formatting), the new film picks up with the family after the events of The Fate of the Furious (re: insane title formatting) and sees Tokyo Drift and Fast 5 director Justin Lin back at the helm.

Ahead of the trailer debut, Universal has debuted a new batch of character posters, including newcomer John Cena, who looks to fill a Rock-sized hole in the franchise’s ever-growing Beefy Boi lineup. Vin Diesel, Michelle RodriguezJordana Brewster, Tyrese GibsonLudacris, and Nathalie Emmanuel also get their own posters, each paired with a sweet ride and some fierce smoke VFX, which you can check out below. No poster for Helen Mirren, which seems like an actual call-the-cops crime but I digress.







Here’s the official synopsis for F9.

Summer 2020 is the time for F9, the ninth chapter in The Fast Saga that has endured for almost two decades and has earned more than $5 billion around the world. Directed by Justin Lin, who helmed the third, fourth, fifth and sixth chapters of the series when it transformed into a global blockbuster, the film stars Vin Diesel, Michelle Rodriguez, Tyrese Gibson, Chris “Ludacris” Bridges, Jordana Brewster, Nathalie Emmanuel, Oscar®winner Charlize Theron and Oscar® winner Helen Mirren. F9 is produced by Neal H. Moritz, Vin Diesel, Jeff Kirschenbaum, Joe Roth, Justin Lin, Clayton Townsend and Samantha Vincent.


via Collider

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.