‘Shoplifters’ Wins Palme d’Or at Cannes While Grand Prix Goes to Spike Lee’s ‘BlacKkKlansman’!!

There were a lot of winners at this year’s Cannes Film Festival. The top prize went to Japanese filmmaker Hirokazu Kore-eda for his movie Shoplifters, “a moving portrait of an self-made family scraping by at the bottom of Japanese society.” Although the Palme d’Or isn’t a reliable awards barometer like the people’s choice award at TIFF, it still gives a movie a level of recognition it might not otherwise would have received. It’s particularly a boon to foreign-language films such as The Square, Dheepan, Amour, and The White Ribbon, just to name a handful of winners from the last ten years. While only Amour went on to get a Best Picture nomination, the Palme still helps put a movie on cinephiles’ radars, and I’ll certainly be on the lookout for Shoplifters.

The other big winner was Spike Lee, who took home the Grand Prix for his newest film, BlacKkKlansman, which is based on the true story of a black detective who was able to infiltrate the local chapter of the Ku Klux Klan. Lee accepted the prize “on behalf of the People’s Republic of Brooklyn, New York.” Lee famously lost out on the Palme d’Or back in 1989 when he should have won for his monumental Do the Right Thing (the winner that year was Sex, Lies and Videotape).

Check out the full list of winners below via Variety:


Palme d’Or: “Shoplifters,” Hirokazu Kore-eda

Grand Prix: “BlacKkKlansman,” Spike Lee

Director: Pawel Pawlikowski, “Cold War”

Actor: Marcello Fonte, ”Dogman”

Actress: Samal Yeslyamova, “Ayka”

Jury Prize: Nadine Labaki, “Capernaum”

Screenplay — TIE: Alice Rohrwacher, “Happy as Lazzaro” AND Jafar Panahi, Nader Saeivar, “3 Faces”

Special Palme d’Or: Jean-Luc Godard


Camera d’Or: “Girl,” Lukas Dhont

Short Films Palme d’Or: “All These Creatures,” Charles Williams

Short Films Special Mention: “On the Border,” Shujun Wei

Golden Eye Documentary Prize: TBA

Ecumenical Jury Prize: “Capernaum,” Nadine Labaki

Ecumenical Jury Special Mention: “BlacKkKlansman,” Spike Lee

Queer Palm: “Girl,” Lukas Dhont


Un Certain Regard Award: Ali Abbasi, “Border”

Best Director: Sergei Loznitsa, “Donbass”

Best Performance: Victor Polster, “Girl”

Best Screenplay: Meryem Benm’Barek, “Sofia”

Special Jury Prize: João Salaviza & Renée Nader Messora, “The Dead and the Others”


Art Cinema Award: “Climax” (Gaspar Noé)

Society of Dramatic Authors and Composers Prize: “The Trouble With You” (Pierre Salvadori)

Europa Cinemas Label: “Lucia’s Grace (Gianni Zanasi)

Illy Short Film Award: “Skip Day” (Patrick Bresnan, Ivete Lucas)


Grand Prize: “Diamantino” (Gabriel Abrantes, Daniel Schmidt)

Society of Dramatic Authors and Composers Prize: “Woman at War” (Benedikt Erlingsson)

GAN Foundation Award for Distribution: “Sir”

Louis Roederer Foundation Rising Star Award: Felix Maritaud, “Sauvage.”

Short Film: “Hector Malot – The Last Day Of The Year” (Jacqueline Lentzou)


Competition: “Burning,” (Lee Chang-dong)

Un Certain Regard: “Girl,” (Lukas Dhont)

Directors’ Fortnight/Critics’ Week: “One Day” (Zsófa Szilagyi)


First Prize: “The Summer of the Electric Lion,” Diego Céspedes

Second Prize — TIE: “Calendar,” Igor Poplauhin AND “The Storms in Our Blood,” Shen Di

Third Prize: “Inanimate,” Lucia Bulgheroni



via Collider

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.