FX Picks Up Kurt Sutter’s ‘Mayans MC’ to Series!!!

If you were wondering whatever happened to that Sons of Anarchy spinoff Mayans MC, well, it is indeed still happening. At the TV Critics Press Tour today, FX announced that they have picked up the Kurt Sutter series for a full season. The road has been rough for Mayans MC, though. About six months ago, the pilot was reshot and the cast completely replaced. Emilio Rivera, who was originally set to star (as a connection to Sons of Anarchy), was replaced by JD Pardo. Edward James Olmos has stayed with the series, but other changes have also taken place behind the scenes, with creator Kurt Sutter stepping away from directing the series, and instead keeping just a screenwriter credit. (The pilot was directed by Noberto Barba).

The 10-episodes first season is set to premiere later this year, though with no exact date as of yet. It will be “set in a post Jax Teller world, where EZ Reyes, fresh out of prison, is a prospect in the Mayan MC charter on the Cali/Mexi border. Now EZ must carve out his new outlaw identity in a town where he once was the golden boy who had the American Dream within his grasp,” according to a press release.

Nick Grad, one of the co-Presidents of Original Programming for FX Networks and FX Productions, said of the series,

“Kurt Sutter is a master storyteller and Mayans MC has the raw energy and intensity that are hallmarks of his signature style. Thanks to Kurt, co-creator Elgin James and this amazing cast, Mayans MC builds on the legacy of Sons of Anarchy, taking it in a thrilling new direction that we can’t wait for the world to see.”

FX’s TV landscape has changed a lot since Sons of Anarchy first premiered in 2008, and it makes sense that the network would want to take its time to make sure Mayans MC works for them now. Even late into its run though, Sons of Anarchy was a popular series, and a continuing story of that world should be an interesting one, especially if if can mirror the quality of SOA‘s early seasons.

Mayans MC will also star Sarah Bolger, Clayton Cardenas, Richard Cabral, Michael Irby, Raoul Trujillo, Antonio Jaramillo and Carla Baratta.


via Collider

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.